Speed up Dashboard by clearing out its cache

Over the course of the past few months, Dashboard had become painfully slow for me, sometimes taking 10 to 20 seconds to load. Dashboard now loads almost instantaneously for me.

Over the course of the past few months, Dashboard had become painfully slow for me, sometimes taking 10 to 20 seconds to load.

I took a look at ~/Library -> Caches -> DashboardClient, and found that the Dashboard cache was 20MB. This seemed excessive (plus, I had a fairly recent backup), so I took a gamble and deleted all the files in the DashboardClient folder. Dashboard now loads almost instantaneously for me.

[robg adds: I was doubtful about this tip, but it did make a difference in my Dashboard loading time — even the first-load time after a reboot was notably reduced.]

read more | digg story

~ by jpicune on October 12, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
