My MacBook Pro has had Better Days

Tuesday evening, I was working on my MacBook Pro. I was sitting on my couch surfing the web, when suddenly the entire thing froze. No key combination would resolve this problem, so I let it sit for about a half hour. Nothing. I had to manually power down the thing (hold down the power button for several seconds until the unit shuts itself off). So I rebooted, and everything seamed okay.

A few minutes latter the MacBook Pro froze again. Okay this is odd, I thought to myself. So again I manually powered the machine off, and rebooted. But nothing happened. The little LED light in the front was on, but nothing. Then suddenly a few minutes later the Mac booted up. Again it was fine for a few minutes before it crashed again. This time I noticed that the airport card was missing.

So the endless cycle continues two day later. I have not ben able to isolate the exact problem. I have talked with Apple Care and they had me run though the usual steps. But I am convinced that this is a hardware issue. I was experiencing these freezes in target disk mode while trying to back up my files. Luckily I was able to safely get everything backed up after a few attempts.

I have proceeded to reinstall the entire OS. The first two attempts failed, one was a crash/freeze and the other was an error message that said, something like, installation could not be completed, there was a log but I was not really sure why it didn’t work. Finally the third time was a charm. The install worked and the freezing problem has not come back. Ironically, the airport card did not come back either.

There have been several posts about issues with the airport card and the MacBook Pro floating around the net. However, it seams that the solution was 10.4.8 and an airport update, both of which I had installed. So I don’t know what to think.

Currently, I zeroed out all data on the hard drive and am trying another install from scratch. I go into the Apple store this afternoon to meet with a genius. I am very scared that this is a major hardware issue and I am going to loose my Mac for a few days. I know Apple will fix it, but is is just such a pain in the butt. Sometime technology is more trouble than it is worth.

Anyway, I will let you know what transpires just in case anyone else is having the same issues.

~ by jpicune on October 12, 2006.

One Response to “My MacBook Pro has had Better Days”

  1. […] If anyone has been following my MacBook Pro dilemma, here is a brief update. […]

Leave a Reply

 
