Mac Autotype (ESC) Tip

Pressing the ESC key after typing in a character or part of a word in most Mac apps. This menu contains all the words your computer knows that begin with that combination of letters!

Tuesday, September 19, 2006
Mac Discovery
I don’t know if this is old news or what (I’m sure it’s been posted at some point) but I’m a pretty avid digger/mac user and I don’t think I’ve ever seen it before. Please spare me the flaming if I’m just out of the loop.

Having used and loved Quicksilver (http://quicksilver.blacktree.com) for quite some time now, I’ve obtained the habit of hitting the escape key when I make a typo. Anyway, I was using iChat, and instead of hitting delete, I hit the escape key, and up popped a list of words starting with the letters I’d already entered! I tried it in textedit as well, and it works there too! I checked the “hotkey” list from an old digg article I bookmarked and it wasn’t there. I haven’t seen it in the “cool things you didn’t know your mac could do” articles either (including holding shift while minimising/bringing up dashboard for slow motion or pressing ctrl+option+apple+8 to invert all colors ^^).

I know that I am pretty obsessive when it comes to my spelling most of the time, and when I don’t know how to spell a word, I’ll enter it and then fix it with spellcheck. Well, this saves me the right click.

Oh, Apple.
posted by Renzien at 2:32 PM

read more | digg story

~ by jpicune on September 20, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
