Remote Edit with the MacBook Pro (Setup)

This is a continuing story click here to see part one.

The edit is yet to begin, but I have set up the eSATA RAID from FirmTek.

The setup was rather easy, however, I skipped a step which caused some delay and confusion. Other than that instance of operator errors thing went as smooth as silk. With the 2 250GB drives striped together I was able to get performance of over 100MB a second on the MacBook Pro. I think that is really impressive. I also did a capture test of a few minutes of video and everything went smoothly. I guess the real challenge will come when I do some real editing on the road. I will be curious to see if I even miss my G5 and Xserve RAID.

Stay tuned from more…

Continue to part 3.

~ by jpicune on September 16, 2006.

One Response to “Remote Edit with the MacBook Pro (Setup)”

  1. […] Continue to Part 2. […]

Leave a Reply

 
