Undressing the Podcast

A little over a year ago I downloaded my fist podcast. I had a two day road trip ahead of me and I thought it was the perfect opportunity to check this new phenomena out. I enjoyed the podcast, which were of course Mac related, but I only listened to them when I traveled. But about six months ago I got an iPod kit installed in my car, and I have been hooked ever since.

It is now like an addition, every morning I get the latest groups of podcasts and listen to them on my drive to and from work. It is truly a great way to stay on top of several of the niche interested that I have, mostly in the tech world. And I have to say that tech news is much more pleasant than just about anything else.

I have also gotten in to the video podcast as well. This summer has been absolutely horrible for TV. There is almost nothing even worth watching. While I would try to do something else I have trained myself to fall asleep while watching TV. Enter the video iPod. What a great little portable TV, and with the addition of TV shows in the iTunes music store (and the podcast of course) there is plenty of content that is not only entertaining but informative. I recommend diggnation and rocketboom both are worth the time.

So are podcast the future, well I don’t know. While convent and great for small audiences podcast still lack the luster of well produced high def broadcasts. And while I think that TV still has its place, and I don’t think that it can be touched, I do think that podcasts my detract from some smaller cable type shows. But podcasting does allow almost anyone to broadcast there message, even if no one is listening or watching, just like this blog.

~ by jpicune on August 19, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
